Outstanding Physician-Clinician Award

Award Profile:

To recognize a physician for outstanding achievements in improving diabetes clinical practice. 

Criteria for Selection (candidates can be peer or self-nominated): 

  • The nominee is actively involved in the clinical care of patients with diabetes. 
  • The nominee is recognized and highly regarded as a clinician and educator of health care professionals with 10 or more years of distinguished service. 
  • The nominee is well-known nationally or internationally for exceptional clinical knowledge and expertise.
  • The nominee has outstanding track record of sharing their expertise with other health care professionals as documented by presentations and/or authorship of books/articles/reference materials. 
  • The nominee is a current member of the American Diabetes Association® (ADA) Professional Section.
  • Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for award.
  • Contributions and volunteer service to both national and international diabetes organizations and the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.   


  • There is no lecture associated with this award.


  • The recipient receives a $3,000 honorarium.
  • The award includes two round-trip coach airfares and hotel accommodations for the duration of the Scientific Sessions. 
  • The award includes complimentary registration to the 85th Scientific Sessions in Chicago, IL, taking place June 20–23, 2025.   

2025 Nomination/Submission Process:

  • Nominations must be submitted using the electronic nomination form. All submissions must be received on or before 8:00 p.m. ET on September 20, 2024.
  • Nominations are accepted from any ADA professional.

    All Outstanding Physician-Clinician nominations must have the following documents uploaded as one PDF file:

    • A letter of nomination/support, whether peer or self-nominated, must be no more than 400 words and signed by no more than three individuals. The letter should address the criteria for selection.
    • The nominee’s biography
    • The nominee’s CV with career and publication highlights.

      Questions? Email Gedeon Topacio, program manager of research & scientific programs, at


The recipient is chosen by the National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Awards Committee and approved by the ADA’s Executive Committee in February 2025.

2024 Outstanding Physician-Clinician Award

John B. Buse, MD, PhD

Previous Outstanding Physician-Clinician Award Recipients:

2023 Mandeep Bajaj, MBBS, FRCP
2022 Janet B. McGill, MD, MA, FACP
2021 Silvio E. Inzucchi, MD 
2020 M. Sue Kirkman, MD
2019 David C. Klonoff, MD
2018 Andrew J. Ahmann, MD
2017 Ruth S. Weinstock, MD, PhD
2016 Mayer B. Davidson, MD
2015 Lori Laffel, MD, MPH
2014 Frank Quentin Nuttall, MD, PhD
2013 Guillermo E. Umpierrez, MD, FACP, FACE
2012 Georgeanna J. Klingensmith, MD
2011 Jerry P. Palmer, MD
2010 William Tamborlane, MD, FAAP, FACE
2009 Daniel Lorber, MD, FACP, CDE
2008 Anne L. Peters, MD, FACP, CDE

2007 Richard M. Bergenstal, MD
2006 Bernard Zinman, MD, FACP, FRCP
2005 Matthew C. Riddle, MD
2004 Irl B. Hirsch, MD
2003 Richard A. Guthrie, MD, FAAP, FACE, CDE
2002 David M. Nathan, MD
2001 H. Peter Chase, MD
2000 Robert A. Rizza, MD
1999 Lloyd M. Aiello, MD
1998 Julio V. Santiago, MD
1997 Bruce R. Zimmerman, MD
1996 F. Xavier Pi-Sunyer, MD, MPH
1995 Lois Jovanovic, MD
1994 Lester Baker, MD
1993 Alice N. Bessman, MD
1992 Saul M. Genuth, MD

1991 Christopher D. Saudek, MD
1990 James R. Gavin III, MD, PhD
1989 Fred W. Whitehouse, MD
1988 Allan L. Drash, MD
1987 O. Peter Schumacher, MD, PhD
1986 Holbroke S. Seltzer, MD
1985 Burritt L. Haag, MD
1984 Alan L. Graber, MD
1983 Harvey C. Knowles, Jr., MD
1982 George P. Heffner, MD
1981 James M. Moss, MD
1980 Harold Rifkin, MD
1979 Marvin E. Levin, MD
1978 Priscilla White, MD
1977 Henry E. Oppenheimer, MD
1976 David Hurwitz, MD
1975 Edgar A. Haunz, MD