2023 National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Award Recipients

The National Scientific & Health Care Awards are presented to recognize and honor individuals in the diabetes scientific and medical community who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributionsthrough their outstanding career achievements and support in the areas of diabetes research, clinical care and education including training, mentoring and international impact.

These awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge those individuals who play a major part in the advancement of the Association's mission to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.

These awards are presented at the American Diabetes Association's 83rd Scientific Sessions Hybrid during the National Scientific Achievement Awards Ceremony on June 26, 2023.

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement - Matthias H. Tschop, MD

Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award - Carmella Evans-Molina, MD, PhD

Albert Renold Award - Ragu G. Mirmira, MD, PhD

Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award - Silva Arslanian, MD

Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award - A. Enrique Caballero, MD

Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award - Mandeep Bajaj, MBBS, FRCP

Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology - Alka M. Kanaya, MD