Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award - Carmella Evans-Molina, MD, PhD

2023 Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award
Carmella Evans-Molina, MD, PhD

Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award Lecture
"The ailing beta cell in diabetes: Insights from a trip to the ER"

Dr. Carmella Evans-Molina is the Eli Lilly Professor of Pediatric Diabetes at the Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis, IN, where she serves as Director of the IU Center for Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases, Program Leader for the Diabetes Research Group in the Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research, Associate Director of the Medical Scientist Training Program, and Co-Director of the Diabetes and Obesity T32 Training Program.  Dr. Evans-Molina is an adult Endocrinologist and Staff Physician at the Roudebush VA Medical Center in Indianapolis, IN.  She holds several national and international leadership positions, including Co-Executive Director of the Network for Pancreatic Organ Donors with Diabetes (nPOD), Co-PI of the NIH-funded Integrated Islet Distribution Program, and President of the Immunology of Diabetes Society (IDS).  Dr. Evans-Molina’s basic science research is focused on understanding how impaired calcium handling in the β cell secretory are linked with impairments in insulin secretion, processing, trafficking, as well as the activation of organelle-specific stress pathways, including ER and Golgi stress. She has a clinical and translational research interest focused on defining the natural history of β cell loss in type 1 diabetes and the use of “omics” approaches to identify novel serum biomarkers of β cell stress in pre-symptomatic diabetes.  She is involved in several clinical trials aimed at preventing β cell loss in early-stage type 1 diabetes.  Dr. Evans-Molina is an investigator in the NIH-funded Type 1 Diabetes Trialnet, RADIANT, and TIDAPC/DREAM Networks. Her research is funded by the NIH, the VA, the JDRF, and the Helmsley Charitable Trust. 

Please join us in celebrating Carmella Evans-Molina, MD, PhD, for her transformative contributions to basic and translational diabetes research.