Albert Renold Award

Purpose of Award:

Given in memory of Dr. Albert Renold to recognize an individual who has a career distinguished by outstanding achievements in mentorship and/or creation of a robust environment for diabetes research.

Criteria for Selection (candidates can be peer or self-nominated)

  • Mus be impactful as a mentor of diabetes researchers or a facilitator of a community of diabetes investigators.
  • Must have national and international stature in diabetes research.
  • Must have an MD, PhD, or equivalent.
  • Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for award.
  • Contributions and volunteer service to both national and international diabetes organizations and the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.   


  • There is no lecture associated with this award.


  • The recipient receives a $5,000 honorarium.
  • The award includes two round-trip coach airfares and hotel accommodations for the duration of the Scientific Sessions.
  • The award includes complimentary registration to the 85th Scientific Sessions in Chicago, IL, taking place June 20–23, 2025.

2025 Nomination/Submission Process:

  • Nominations must be submitted using the electronic nomination form. All submissions must be received on or before 8:00 p.m. ET on September 20, 2024. 
  • Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association® (ADA).

    All Renold nominations must have the following documents uploaded as one .pdf file:

    • The letter of nomination/support, whether peer or self-nominated, must be no more than 400 words and signed by no more than three individuals. It should address the criteria for selection.
    • The nominee’s biography
    • The nominee’s CV with career and publication highlights.
    • The nominee’s list of current and former mentees/trainees to date.

    Questions? Email Gedeon Topacio, program manager of research & scientific programs, at


The recipient is chosen by the National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Awards Committee and approved by the ADA’s Executive Committee in February 2025.

2024 Albert Renold Award Recipient

Alvin C. Powers, MD

Previous Albert Renold Award Recipients

2023 Raghu G. Mirmira, MD, PhD
2022 Jane E.B. Reusch, MD
2021 Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD
2020 Elizabeth R. Seaquist, MD
2019 Rudolph L. Leibel, MD
2018 Mark A. Atkinson, PhD
2017 Daryl K. Granner, MD
2016 Gordon C. Weir, MD
2015 Richard N. Bergman, PhD
2014 Edward S. Horton, MD
2013 Peter H. Bennett, MB, ChB, FRCP, FFPH

2012 George S. Eisenbarth, MD, PhD
2011 Robert S. Sherwin, MD
2010 Philip E. Cryer, MD
2009 Aldo A. Rossini, MD
2008 Jeffrey S. Flier, MD
2007 Donald F. Steiner, MD
2006 Neil B. Ruderman, MD
2005 Mladen Vranic, MD, DSc, FRSC, FRCP
2004 Michael P. Czech, PhD
2003 Maria G. Buse, MD
2002 Gerald M. Reaven, MD

2001 Ralph A. DeFronzo, MD
2000 Reubin Andres, MD
1999 Phillip Gorden, MD
1998 C. Ronald Kahn, MD
1997 R. Paul Robertson, MD
1996 George F. Cahill, Jr., MD
1995 Daniel Porte, Jr., MD
1994 Harold E. Lebovitz, MD
1993 Jesse Roth, MD
1992 Peter H. Forsham, MD