2021 National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Award Recipients

The National Scientific & Health Care Awards are presented to recognize and honor individuals in the diabetes scientific and medical community who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributionsthrough their outstanding career achievements and support in the areas of diabetes research, clinical care and education including training, mentoring and international impact.

These awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge those individuals who play a major part in the advancement of the Association's mission to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.

These awards are presented at the American Diabetes Association's 81st Scientific Sessions Virtual Experience furing the National Scientific Achievement Awards Online Presentation Ceremony on June 28, 2021.

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement - Jens Juul Holst, MD

Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award - Kristen J. Nadeau, MD, MS

Albert Renold Award - Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD

Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award - Hans-Henrik Parving, MD, DMSc

Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award - Denise Charron-Prochownik, PhD, CPNP, RN, FAAN

Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award - Silvio E. Inzucchi, MD

Harold Rifkin Award for Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes - Juleen R. Zierath, PhD

Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology - Nicholas J. Wareham, FMedSci, FRCP, FFPHM, MBBS, MSc, PhD