2019 National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Award Recipients


The National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Awards are presented to recognize and honor individuals in the diabetes scientific and medical community who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributions through their outstanding career achievements and support in the areas of diabetes research, clinical care and education including training, mentoring and international impact.

These awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge those individuals who play a major part in the advancement of the Association’s mission to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.

These awards are presented at the American Diabetes Association's 79th Scientific Sessions in San Francisco, CA, during the National Scientific Achievement Awards Presentation Ceremony on June 10, 2019.

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement - Stephen O'Rahilly, MD

Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award - Sadaf Farooqi, MB, ChB (Hons), PhD

Albert Renold Award - Rudolph L. Leibel, MD

Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award - John B. Buse, MD, PhD

Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award - Virginia Valentine, APRN, BC-ADM, CDE, FAADE

Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award - David C. Klonoff, MD, FACP, FRCP (Edin), Fellow AIMBE

Harold Rifkin Award for Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes - Juliana C.N. Chan, MB, ChB, MD, PhD

Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology - Elizabeth J. Mayer-Davis, PhD