Scientific Sessions Webcasts 2016 | American Diabetes Association

View and review presentations and oral abstracts from 76th Scientific Sessions    

Browse 76th Scientific Sessions Webcasts


The American Diabetes Association brought together health care professionals interested in the clinical management of diabetes and its complications for an innovative educational initiative developed specifically for the primary care community. This initiative offers information and tools needed to improve patient outcomes through patient engagement.

The live program will took place on June 11, 2016 at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans. 

CE Webcasts of the program - Coming in July!

2016 Webcasts

The 3rd Annual Focus on Fellows program offered early career endocrinologists who treat diabetes and its complications small-group learning experiences followed by support throughout the world’s foremost meeting on diabetes, the American Diabetes Association’s 76th Scientific Sessions. 

The 2016 program will took place June 9-14, 2016 at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans. Webcasts from the program will become available in July 2016. 

Click here to view the Focus on Fellows webcasts.

National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Awards - Call for Nominations

The American Diabetes Association 2017 National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards are presented to recognize and honor individuals in the diabetes scientific and medical community who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and who have made signification contributions through their outstanding career achievements and support in the areas of diabetes research, clinical care and education including training, mentoring and international impact.

The awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge those individuals who play a major part in the advancement of the Association’s mission to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes. The eight prestigious scientific awards will be presented at the 77th Scientific Sessions in San Diego, California.

Submit your 2017 nominations and learn more about the review process at

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement Award  -  Barbara B. Kahn, MD
Honoring Meritorious Lifetime Career Achievement in Diabetes Research

The Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award  -  Tamas L. Horvath, DVM, PhD
Recognizing Distinguished Scientific Achievement in Diabetes Research from a Researcher age 50 years old or younger.

Albert Renold Award  -  Gordon C. Weir, MD
For Distinguished Service in Mentorship and Training of Diabetes Research Scientists

Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award  -  Steven E. Kahn, MB, ChB
Recognizing individuals for outstanding contributions in patient-oriented clinical outcomes research that have had a significant impact on diabetes prevention and treatment.    

The Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award  -  Sheri R. Colberg-Ochs, PhD, FACSM
Honoring Meritorious Contributions to the Field of Diabetes Education 

The Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award  -  Mayer B. Davidson, MD
Acknowledging Outstanding Contributions to Diabetes Clinical Practice 

Harold Rifkin Award  -  Yutaka Seino, MD, PhD
Honoring Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes

Kelly West Award  -  Edward W. Gregg, PhD
Honoring Outstanding Achievements in Epidemiology

Additionally four interest group lecture awards were presented:

Edwin Bierman Award   (Interest Group on Complications)  -  Clay F. Semenkovich, MD
Norbert Freinkel Award   (Interest Group on Pregnancy and Reproductive Health)  -  H. David McIntyre, MD, FRACP
Roger Pecoraro Award    (Interest Group on Foot Care)  -  Nicolaas C. Schaper, MD, PhD
Richard R. Rubin Award  (Interest Group on Behavioral Medicine and Psychology)  -  Elizabeth A. Walker, PhD, RN

*Scientific Sessions Webcasts content is subject to speaker permission.