

Norbert Freinkel Award

Award Profile:

This lecture award is given in memory of Norbert Freinkel, a dedicated and insightful investigator, as well as gifted writer to honor a researcher who has made outstanding contributions to the field of diabetes and pregnancy.

Criteria for Selection:

- To recognize the outstanding contributions (including scientific publications and presentations) to the understanding and treatment of diabetes and pregnancy.
- Nominee will be recognized for national and/or international contributions to the field of diabetes in pregnancy.
- MD or PhD degree or equivalent.
- Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for Award.
- Nominee must be an active professional member of the American Diabetes Association. Contributions as an American Diabetes Association volunteer and to the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.

Lecture/Publication of Lecture:

- Recipient will deliver the Norbert Freinkel Award Lecture at the 86th Scientific Sessions (June 5 to 8, 2026) in New Orleans, LA.
- Recipient will be offered the opportunity to publish lecture in an American Diabetes Association scientific journal.

Honorarium/Travel/Registration:

- The recipient receives a \$1,000 honorarium.
- Award includes reimbursable travel up to \$500 and one complimentary registration to the 86th Scientific Sessions (June 5 to 8, 2026) in New Orleans, LA.

Nomination/Submission Process:

- 2026 nominations must be submitted at the electronic nomination form at http://my.diabetes.org/awardapplications.
 In order to submit a nomination, you must log into your DiabetesPro account with an email username and password.
- You must upload all award components as one .pdf document in the electronic nomination form.
- Submissions must be received on or before 8:00 p.m. ET on September, 19, 2025.
- Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.



• Nominations from the membership of the Pregnancy & Reproductive Health Interest Group in particular are encouraged and will be solicited.

All Freinkel Award nominations must include the following documents:

- Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted.
- Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
- Nominee's biography
- Nominee's CV with career and publication highlights, as well as documentation of teaching and mentorship.

Selection:

- The recipient is chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Pregnancy & Reproductive Health Interest Group Leadership Team. The selection committee will review all nominations and select the recipient on the basis of outstanding achievement in the field of diabetes and pregnancy.
- The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee. The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.
- Pregnancy and Reproductive Health Interest Group Leadership Team members as well as members of the ADA's Science, Medicine, and Health Care Awards Committee are not eligible during their term of service. The list of current Interest Group Leadership Team members can be found at professional.diabetes.org/InterestGroups.
- Nominees may not be current ADA national officers (ADA President of Medicine & Science and President of Health Care & Education) or have held one of these national officer position within the past three years.

Questions? Email InterestGroups@diabetes.org



Previous winners of the Norbert Freinkel Lecture Award:

- 2025 Monique Hedderson, PhD
- 2024 Professor Fidelma Dunne MD, PhD, FRCP, FRCPI, MRIA
- 2023 Helen R. Murphy, MBBChBAO, MD, FRACP
- 2022 Anny Xiang, PhD
- 2021 Denice Feig, MD, MSc, FRCPC
- 2020 David Simmons, MA, MB, BS, FRACP, FRCP, MD (Cantab)
- 2019 Assiamira Ferrara, MD, PhD
- 2018 Linda Barbour, MD, MSPH, FACP
- 2017 Gernot Desoye, PhD
- 2016 H. David McIntyre, MD, FRACP
- 2015 Elisabeth R. Mathiesen, MD, DMSc
- 2014 Jacob E. (Jed) Friedman, PhD
- 2013 Caroline A. Crowther, MD, FRANZCOG, FRCOG, CMFM
- 2012 E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA
- 2011 Peter Damm, MD, DMSc
- 2010 Sylvie Hauguel-de Mouzon, PhD
- 2009 Siri L. Kjos, MD
- 2008 David Sacks, MD
- 2007 Emilio Herrera, PhD
- 2006 David R. Hadden, MD
- 2005 Steven G. Gabbe, MD
- 2004 F. André Van Assche, MD
- 2003 Oded Langer, MD
- 2002 Jorge Mestman, MD
- 2001 Lois Jovanovic, M
- 2000 Patrick Catalano, MD
- 1999 Thomas Buchanan, MD
- 1998 David Pettitt, MD
- 1997 Donald Coustan, MD
- 1996 John Kitzmiller, MD
- 1995 Ulf Eriksson, MD
- 1994 John O'Sullivan, MD
- 1993 Boyd Metzger, MD
- 1992 Lars Mosted-Pedersen, MD
- 1991 John Bell, MD