

Roger E. Pecoraro Award

Award Profile:

Given in memory of Roger E. Pecoraro, MD, a pioneer in research on the causes and prevention of foot ulcers and amputations in diabetes, The Roger E. Pecoraro Lectureship Award recognizes a researcher who has made scientific contributions and demonstrates an untiring commitment to improving the understanding of detection, treatment and prevention of diabetic foot complications.

Criteria for Selection:

- Nominee will be recognized for significant and/or innovating scientific achievement in improving the understanding of detection, treatment and prevention of diabetic foot complications.
- Impact as a teacher and mentor will also be taken into consideration.
- MD, DO, DPM, or PhD degree
- Both US and non-US residents are eligible for Award
- Nominee must be an active professional member of the American Diabetes Association. Contributions as an American Diabetes Association volunteer and to the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.

Lecture/Publication of Lecture:

- Recipient will deliver the Roger Pecoraro Award Lecture at the 85th Scientific Sessions (June 20 to 23, 2025) in Chicago, IL.
- Offered the opportunity to publish lecture in an American Diabetes Association scientific journal.

Honorarium/Travel/Registration:

- The recipient receives a \$1,000 honorarium.
- Award includes reimbursable travel up to \$600 and one complimentary registration to the 85th Scientific Sessions (June 20 to 23, 2025) in Chicago, IL.

Nomination/Submission Process:

- 2025 nominations must be submitted at the electronic nomination form at http://my.diabetes.org/awardapplications. In order to submit a nomination, you must log into your DiabetesPro account with an email username and password.
- You must upload all award components as one .pdf document in the electronic nomination form. Submissions must be received on or before 8:00 p.m. ET on January 10, 2025.
- Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
- Nominations from the membership of the ADA Interest Group on Foot Care are encouraged and will be solicited.

All Roger Pecoraro Award nominations must have the followingdocuments

- Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted. Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
- Nominee's biography
- o Please include nominee's CV with
- career and publication highlights, as well as documentation of teaching and mentorship.

Questions? Please contact interestgroups@diabetes.org.

Selection:

- The recipient is chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Foot Care Interest Group Leadership Team. The selection committee will review all nominations and select the recipient on the basis of outstanding achievement in the field of diabetic foot complications.
- The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee. The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.
- Foot Care Interest Group Leadership Team members as well as members of the ADA's Science, Medicine, and Health Care Awards Committee are not eligible during their term of service. The list of current Interest Group Leadership Team members can be found at professional.diabetes.org/InterestGroups. Nominees may not be current ADA national officers (ADA President of Medicine & Science or President of Health Care & Education) or have held one of these national officer position within the past three years.

Previous Award Winners:

2024 Professor Frances L. Game BSc, MBBCh (Hons), MRCPath, FRCP 2023 Tze-Woei Tan, MBBS, MPH, FACS 2022 Eric Senneville, MD, PhD 2021 Edward J. Boyko, MD, MPH 2020 Lee J. Sanders, DPM 2019 James S. Wrobel, DPM, MS 2018 Edgar J.G. Peters, MD, PhD 2017 Dane K. Wukich, MD 2016 Nicolaas C. Schaper, MD, PhD 2015 Karel Bakker, MD, PhD 2014 William J. Jeffcoate, MRCP 2013 Christopher E. Attinger, MD, FACS 2012 Benjamin A. Lipsky, MD, FACP, FIDSA, FRCP 2011 Robert G. Frykberg, DPM, MPH 2010 David G. Armstrong 2009 James Birke 2008 David Sinacore 2007 Lawrence Lavery

2006 Michael J. Mueller 2005 Frank LoGerfo 2004 Aristidis Veves 2003 Lawrence Harkless 2002 Peter Cavanaugh 2001 not awarded 2000 Gayle Reiber 1999 Michael Edmonds 1998 Jan Apelqvist 1997 Gary Gibbons 1996 Andrew Boulton 1995 Paul Brand 1994 1993 Jean-Philippe Assal 1992 Michael Edmonds