

Richard R. Rubin Award

Award Profile:

The Richard R. Rubin Award Lecture, formerly the Behavioral Medicine & Psychology Interest Group Lectureship for Distinguished Contributions, is given in memory of Richard R. Rubin, PhD, CDE. Dr. Rubin was a long time Association volunteer, who served as President, Health Care and Education and Chair of the Behavioral Medicine & Psychology Interest Group and received numerous professional and service awards. The Richard R. Rubin Award recognizes a behavioral researcher who has made outstanding and/or innovative contributions in the study and understanding of the behavioral aspects of diabetes.

Criteria for Selection:

- Nominee is a behavioral researcher who has made outstanding and/or innovative contributions in the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of diabetes.
- Nominee will be recognized for national and/or international contributions to the field of behavioral medicine in diabetes.
- No specific degree requirements, but a clinical/research focus in behavioral health is strongly preferred.
- Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for Award.
- Contributions as an American Diabetes Association volunteer and to the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.

Lecture/Publication of Lecture:

- Recipient will deliver the Richard R. Rubin Award Lecture at the 84th Scientific Sessions June 21-24, 2024 in Orlando, FL.
- Offered the opportunity to publish lecture in an American Diabetes Association scientific journal.

Honorarium/Travel/Registration:

- The recipient receives a \$1,000 honorarium.
- Award includes reimbursable travel up to \$600 and one complimentary registration to the 84th Scientific Sessions June 21-24, 2024 in Orlando, FL.

Nomination/Submission Process:

- 2024 nominations must be submitted via emailing the nomination packet as a single .pdf document to InterestGroups@diabetes.org.
- All submissions must be received by 8:00 p.m. ET, on September 15, 2023.
- Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
- Nominations from the membership of the ADA Interest Group on Behavioral Medicine & Psychology are encouraged and will be solicited.

All Richard R. Rubin Award nominations must submit the following documents:

- o Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted. Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
- o Nominee's biography
- o Nominee's CV with career and publication highlights, as well as documentation of teaching and mentorship.

Questions? Please send an email to interest groups@diabetes.org.

Selection:

- The recipient is chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Behavioral Medicine & Psychology Interest Group Leadership Team. The selection committee will review and discuss all nominations and select the recipient on the basis of outstanding achievement or innovative contributions that have led to advances in the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of living with diabetes and its prevention and treatment.
- The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee. The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.
- Behavioral Medicine & Psychology Interest Group Leadership Team members as well as members of the ADA's Science, Medicine, and Health Care Awards Committee are not eligible during their term of service. The list of current Interest Group Leadership Team members can be found at professional.diabetes.org/InterestGroups. Nominees may not be current ADA national officers (ADA President of Medicine & Science and President of Health Care & Education) or have held one of these national officer position within the past three years.

Previous Winners of the Richard R. Rubin Award: 2009–Patrick Lustman, PhD

2022 – Alan M. Delamater, PhD, ABPP

2021 – David G. Marrero, PhD

2020 – Randi Streisand, PhD

2019 – Frank J. Snoek, PhD

2018 – Tim Wysocki, PhD, ABPP

2017 - Michael A. Harris, PhD

2016 - Elizabeth Arquin Walker, PhD, RN

2015 - Robert M. Anderson, EdD

2014 – William H. Polonsky, PhD, CDE

2013 - Margaret Grey, DrPH, RN, FAAN

2012 - Lawrence Fisher, PhD, ABPP

2011 - Barbara J. Anderson, PhD

2010 – Richard R. Rubin, PhD, CDE

2008 – Rena Wing, PhD

2007 – Suzanne B. Johnson, PhD

2006 - Russell Glasgow, PhD

2005 - Daniel Cox, PhD