

Edwin Bierman Award

Award Profile:

This lecture is awarded in honor of the memory of Edwin L. Bierman, MD. Dr. Bierman was an exemplary scientist, mentor and leader in the field of diabetes, obesity, hyperlipidemia and atherosclerosis.

The award and lecture recognizes a leading scientist in the field of macrovascular complications and contributing risk factors in diabetes. Dr. Bierman is most notably remembered for his work on the physiologic and nutritional regulation of lipoprotein metabolism and the nature of lipid and lipoprotein disorders particularly in obesity and diabetes, and especially as these relate to atherosclerosis. He was also a pioneer using human cultured cells to study atherosclerosis. Dr. Bierman founded one of the leading journals in the area of atherosclerosis, namely Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology, and had a major impact on our understanding of diabetes and macrovascular disease.

Criteria for Selection:

- Nominee is a leading scientist who has made outstanding contributions in the field of macrovascular complications and the management and treatment of diabetes.
- Nominee will be recognized for national and/or international contributions to the field of research on diabetes complications.
- MD or PhD degree or equivalent.
- Both US and non-US residents are eligible for Award.
- Contributions as an American Diabetes Association volunteer and to the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.

Lecture/Publication of Lecture:

- Recipient will deliver the Edwin Bierman Award Lecture at the 84th Scientific Sessions June 21-24, 2024 in Orlando, FL.
- Offered the opportunity to publish lecture in an American Diabetes Association scientific journal.

Honorarium/Travel/Registration:

- The recipient receives a \$1,000 honorarium.
- Award includes reimbursable travel up to \$600 and one complimentary registration to the 84th Scientific Sessions June 21-24, 2024 in Orlando, FL.

Nomination/Submission Process:

- 2024 nominations must be submitted via emailing the nomination packet as a single .pdf document to InterestGroups@diabetes.org by September 15, 2023 at 8:00 p.m. ET.
- Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
- Nominations from the membership of the ADA Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease Interest Group are encouraged and will be solicited.

All Edwin Bierman Award Nominations:

- o Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted. Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
- o Nominee's biography
- o Nominee's CV with career and publication highlights, as well as documentation of teaching and mentorship.

Selection:

- The recipient is chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease Interest Group Leadership Team. The selection committee will review and discuss all nominations and select the recipient on the basis of outstanding contributions to the field of macrovascular complications in the knowledge, management and treatment of diabetes.
- The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee. The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.
- Diabetes & Cardiovsascular Disease Interest Group Leadership Team members as well as members of the ADA's Science, Medicine, and Health Care Awards Committee are not eligible during their term of service. The list of current Interest Group Leadership Team members can be found at professional.diabetes.org/InterestGroups. Nominees may not be current ADA national officers (ADA President of Medicine & Science and President of Health Care & Education) or have held one of these national officer position within the past three years.

2023 Elizabeth J. Parks, I	PhD
----------------------------	-----

2022 Gary Lewis, MD, FRCPC

2021 Russell A. DeBose-Boyd, PhD

2020 Rama Natarajan, PhD, FAHA, FASN

2019 Peter Rossing, MD, DMSc

2018 Alessandro Doria, MD, PhD, MPH

2017 Mark E. Cooper, MB BS, PhD

2016 Clay F. Semenkovich, MD

2015 George L. King, MD

2014 Karin E. Bornfeldt, PhD

2013 Joseph L. Witztum, MD

2012 Ronald M. Krauss, MD

2011 Theodore Mazzone, MD, FACP

2010 Ira J. Goldberg, MD

2009 Steven M. Haffner, MD

2008 Scott Grundy, MD, PhD

2007 Henry Ginsberg, MD

2006 Robert Eckel, MD

2005 John D. Brunzell, MD

2004 Marja-Riitta Taskinen, MD

2003 Alan Chait, MD

2002 Helen Vlassara, MD

2001 Maria Lopes-Virella, MD, PhD

2000 John A. Colwell, MD, PhD

1999 Barbara V. Howard, PhD