

Norbert Freinkel Award

Award Profile:

This lecture award is given in memory of Norbert Freinkel, a dedicated and insightful investigator, as well as gifted writer to honor a researcher who has made outstanding contributions to the field of diabetes and pregnancy.

Criteria for Selection:

- To recognize the outstanding contributions (including scientific publications and presentations) to the understanding and treatment of diabetes and pregnancy.
- Nominee will be recognized for national and/or international contributions to the field of diabetes in pregnancy.
- MD or PhD degree or equivalent.
- Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for Award.
- Contributions as an American Diabetes Association volunteer and to the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.

Lecture/Publication of Lecture:

- Recipient will deliver the Norbert Freinkel Award Lecture at the 83rd Scientific Sessions June 23-27, 2023 in San Diego, CA
- Offered the opportunity to publish lecture in an American Diabetes Association scientific journal.

Honorarium/Travel/Registration:

- The recipient receives a \$1,000 honorarium.
- Award includes reimbursable travel up to \$600 and one complimentary registration to the 83rd Scientific Sessions June 23-27, 2023 in San Diego, CA

Nomination/Submission Process:

- 2023 nominations must be submitted via email to <u>interestgroups@diabetes.org</u> by September 16, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. ET.
- Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
- Nominations from the membership of the Pregnancy & Reproductive Health Interest Group in particular are encouraged and will be solicited.

All Freinkel Award nominations must have the following documents emailed to InterestGroups@diabetes.org as one .pdf file:

- o Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted. Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
- o Nominee's biography
- o Nominee's CV with career and publication highlights, as well as documentation of teaching and mentorship.



Selection:

- The recipient is chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Pregnancy &
 Reproductive Health Interest Group Leadership Team. The selection committee will review
 and discuss all nominations and select the recipient on the basis of outstanding achievement
 in the field of diabetes and pregnancy.
- The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee. The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.

Pregnancy and Reproductive Health Interest Group Leadership Team members as well as members of the ADA's Science, Medicine, and Health Care Awards Committee are not eligible during their term of service. The list of current Interest Group Leadership Team members can be found at professional.diabetes.org/InterestGroups. Nominees may not be current ADA national officers (ADA President of Medicine & Science and President of Health Care & Education) or have held one of these national officer position within the past three years.

Previous winners of the Norbert Freinkel Lecture Award:

2022 Anny Xiang, PhD	2005	Steven G. Gabbe, MD
2021 Denice Feig, MD, MSc, FRCPC	2004	F. André Van Assche, MD
2020 David Simmons, MA, MB, BS,	2003	Oded Langer, MD
FRACP, FRCP, MD (Cantab)		Janes Masterian MD
2019 Assiamira Ferrara, MD, PhD	2002	Jorge Mestman, MD
2018 Linda Barbour, MD, MSPH, FACP	2001	Lois Jovanovic, M
2017 Gernot Desoye, PhD	2000	Patrick Catalano, MD
2016 H. David McIntyre, MD, FRACP	_000	1 atrick Catalano, MD
2015 Elisabeth R. Mathiesen, MD,DMSc	1999	Thomas Buchanan, MD
2014 Jacob E. (Jed) Friedman, PhD	1998	David Pettitt, MD
2013 Caroline A. Crowther, MD,		
FRANZCOG, FRCOG, CMFM	1997	Donald Coustan, MD
2012 E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA	1996	John Kitzmiller, MD
2011 Peter Damm, MD, DMSc	1995	Ulf Eriksson, MD
2010 Sylvie Hauguel-de Mouzon, PhD		,
2009 Siri L. Kjos, MD	1994	John O'Sullivan, MD
2008 David Sacks, MD	1993	Boyd Metzger, MD
2007 Emilio Herrera, PhD		Boyd Metzger, MD
2006 David R. Hadden, MD	1992	Lars Mosted-Pedersen, MD
	1991	John Bell, MD
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·