



# Richard R. Rubin Award

# Award Profile:

Formerly the Behavioral Medicine & Psychology Interest Group Lectureship for Distinguished Contributions, the Richard R. Rubin Award Lecture is given in memory of Richard R. Rubin, PhD, CDE, a long time Association volunteer, who served as President, Health Care and Education, and chair of the Council on Behavioral Medicine & Psychology, and received numerous professional and service awards. Specifically, the Richard R. Rubin Award recognizes a behavioral researcher who has made outstanding and/or innovations contributions in the study and understanding of the behavioral aspects of diabetes.

### **Criteria for Selection:**

- Principal criteria for selection: To recognize a behavioral researcher who has made outstanding and/or innovative contributions in the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of diabetes.
- Nominee will be recognized for national and/or international contributions to the field of behavioral medicine in diabetes
- Nominee must be an active American Diabetes Association member.
- No specific degree requirements, but a clinical/research focus in behavioral health is strongly preferred
- Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for Award.
- Contributions as an American Diabetes Association volunteer and to the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.

### Lecture/Publication of Lecture:

- Recipient will deliver the Norbert Freinkel Award Lecture at the 77th Scientific Sessions in San Diego, California; June 9-13, 2017.
- Offered the opportunity to publish lecture in an American Diabetes Association scientific journal.

### Honorarium/Travel/Registration:

- The recipient receives a \$1,000 honorarium.
- Award includes complimentary hotel accommodations for up to 3-nights within an Association hotel block and one round-trip coach airfare.
- Includes one complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions.

### 2017 Nomination/Submission Process:

- 2017 Nominations must be submitted using the <u>new electronic nomination form</u>. All submissions must be received on or before 8pm ET, August 26, 2016.
- Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
- Nominations from the membership of the ADA Interest Group on Behavioral Medicine & Psychology are encouraged and will be solicited.

# <u>All Richard R. Rubin Award nominations must have the following documents uploaded as one.pdf file:</u>

- Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted. Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
- Nominee's biography
- Please include nominee's CV with career and publication highlights, as well as documentation of teaching and mentorship must also be included.

**Questions?** Contact Mary Merkin, Senior Manager, Scientific and Medical by email at <u>mmerkin@diabetes.org</u> or call 703-549-1500, ext 1371.

#### Selection:

- The recipient is chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Chair of the Interest Group on Behavioral Medicine and Psychology and the past 3 recipients of the Rubin Award. The selection committee will review and discuss all nominations and select the recipient on the basis of outstanding achievement or innovative contributions that have led to advances in the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of living with diabetes and its prevention and treatment.
- The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee. The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.

### Previous Winners of the Richard R. Rubin Award:

- 2016 Elizabeth Arquin Walker, PhD, RN
- 2015 Robert M. Anderson, EdD
- 2014 William H. Polonsky, PhD, CDE
- 2013 Margaret Grey, DrPH, RN, FAAN
- 2012 Lawrence Fisher, PhD, ABPP
- 2011 Barbara J. Anderson, PhD
- 2010 Richard R. Rubin, PhD, CDE
- 2009 Patrick Lustman, PhD
- 2008 Rena Wing, PhD
- 2007 Suzanne B. Johnson, PhD
- 2006 Russell Glasgow, PhD
- 2005 Daniel Cox, PhD

Formerly the Behavioral Medicine and Psychology Distinguished Contributions Award, this award was renamed in 2013 to honor the late Richard R. Rubin, PhD.