For results that have...

But don't include...

2014 National Scientific Achievement Awards Nomination Instructions
Timeline for Completing and Submitting a Nomination
An individual may be nominated or may submit a self-nomination. Either is welcomed. Please note that incomplete nomination forms will not be considered.

Nomination applications will be accepted by email submission only beginning August 6, 2012. Completed applications must be emailed to Mary Merkin, Senior Manager, Scientific and Medical at on or before 8:00 p.m. on Friday, November 16, 2012.

It is important to review the specific purpose of the award and criteria for selection which are available in each of the Award Profiles linked below.

The following criteria apply to all nominations:
  • Eligibility for awards is limited to those who have not received any other Association National Scientific Achievement Award during the preceding three years.
  • Nominees may not be current national officers of the American Diabetes Association or have held a national office within the past three years.Instructions for Completing a Nomination:
Please click on the Award Links below to access the 2013 Application Form and to review each specific award profile.
One nominee may be nominated for several awards, but each nomination must be submitted via a separate application form with supporting documentation.

Each nomination must include:

  1. 2013 Nomination Form
  2. Letter of Nomination recommending nominee (no more than 400 words). Only letters signed by no more than three individuals will be accepted. The nomination letter should address criteria for selection as listed in the Award Profile.
  3. Nominee's CV with career and publication highlights.
  4. Nominee's Biography
  5. Please see the Award Profiles (linked below) for additional requirements.

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement Award (Award Profile)
Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award (Award Profile)
Albert Renold Award (Award Profile)
Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award (Award Profile)
Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award (Award Profile)
Harold Rifkin Award for Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes (Award Profile)
Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology (Award Profile)
Edwin Bierman Award Lectureship (Award Profile)
Roger Pecoraro Award Lectureship (Award Profile)
Norbert Freinkel Award Lectureship (Award Profile)
Behavioral Medicine and Psychology Interest Group for Distinguished Contributions Award Lectureship (Award Profile)