For results that have...

But don't include...

2016 National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Awards: Call for Nominations Open Now through August 28, 2015
The American Diabetes Association is seeking nominations of individuals eligible to receive the 2016 National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards.

These awards are presented to recognize and honor individuals in the diabetes scientific and medical community who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and who have made signification contributions through their outstanding career achievements and support in the areas of diabetes research, clinical care and education including training, mentoring and international impact.

The awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge those individuals who play a major part in the advancement of the Association’s mission to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.

The eight prestigious scientific awards will be presented at the 76thScientific Sessions, June 10-14, 2016 in 
New Orleans, Louisiana.

The following links include complete award profile information including criteria for selection and full submission requirements.

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement Award

Honoring Meritorious Lifetime Career Achievement in Diabetes Research

The Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award

Recognizing Distinguished Scientific Achievement in Diabetes Research from a Researcher age 50 years old or younger.

Albert Renold Award
For Distinguished Service in Mentorship and Training of Diabetes Research Scientists

Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award

Recognizing individuals for outstanding contributions in patient-oriented clinical outcomes research that have had a significant impact on diabetes prevention and treatment.    

The Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award
Honoring Meritorious Contributions to the Field of Diabetes Education

The Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award
Acknowledging Outstanding Contributions to Diabetes Clinical Practice

Harold RIfkin Award
Honoring Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes

Kelly West Award
Honoring Outstanding Achievements in Epidemiology

Additionally four interest group lecture awards will be presented:

Edwin Bierman Award   (Interest Group on Complications)

Norbert Freinkel Award   (Interest Group on Pregnancy and Reproductive Health)

Roger Pecoraro Award    (Interest Group on Foot Care)

Richard R. Rubin Award  (Interest Group on Behavioral Medicine and Psychology)

The following criteria apply to all nominations:

  • Eligibility for awards is limited to those who have not received any other Association National Scientific Achievement Award during the preceding three years.
  • Nominees may not be current national officers of the American Diabetes Association or have held a national office within the past three years. 

Instructions for Completing a Nomination:

One nominee may be nominated for several awards, but each nomination must be submitted via a separate online nomination/submission form with supporting documentation uploaded as one .pdf file.

Each nomination must include:

  1. 2016 nomination must be submitted using the online submission form. 
    Access the submission form.
    Access a saved nomination.                 
  1. Letter of nomination should be no more than 400 words.  Only letters signed by no more than three individuals will be accepted. The nomination letter should address criteria for selection as listed in the Award Profile.
  2. Nominee's CV with career and publication highlights.
  3. Nominee's biography
  4. Please see the Award Profiles for additional requirements.

Should you need assistance with your nomination, please contact Mary Merkin at or call 800-676-4065, ext 1371.

NOTE: All nominations are reviewed by a peer committee, the ADA National Medicine, Science and Health Care Award Committee. Award winners will be notified in February 2016.